AC/DC LIVE: Rock Band Track Pack

Getting this track pack reminded me of SingStar and its countless iterations on various discs. "Oh great," I thought. "Here's 18 songs to play in a stripped-down version of Rock Band. I only want to really play half that number, and not everyone around me will want to play along to much AC/DC."

Luckily, Harmonix has done one of the biggest things I wish SingStar would do: allow users to whack the songs on the hard drive and add them to your overall collection. Sure, you have to actually download them from the net for piracy control reasons, but it makes a huge difference.

Ad FeedbackAdvertisement

So how is this collection? Well, just like Guitar Hero: Aerosmith and the like, if you're an Acca Dacca fan, you'll probably already own it. And if you're not, then it's not even worth reading on.

Still here? Weird. Okay, so if you're on the fence, then you should know that the track pack gives you 18 of AC/DC's better songs (with a couple of exceptions) for around $50. This winds up not being much cheaper than simply buying 18 songs off the Rock Band store, so if you're looking for a bargain, look elsewhere. Personally, I'm a casual AC/DC fan, so given the choice I'd likely pick up half a dozen of their songs, and spend the rest of the money on other bands.

However, hardcore fans will appreciate the lineup. There were one or two tracks I missed, and a number more that I didn't know at all, but largely it's a decent greatest hits-type collection. Oh, and it's all performed live - I think from a concert in 1991. But you don't really notice the difference when you've got four people in a room all making as much noise as possible.

As I mentioned, you can either whack in the disc and play a stripped-down Rock Band that only features the AC/DC tracks (with an option to play through the whole album!) - or you can enter a code found on your manual and download all the songs to your hard drive. The file clocks in at around 700MB, so make sure you have spare bandwidth.

Like GH: Aerosmith, this one's only really worth picking up if you - and several other Rock Band-inclined friends - are big fans of the group. For everyone else, I find it a bit hard to recommend paying the $50 asking price, when you probably only care about 4-5 of the songs, and don't even know half a dozen of them. But don't let me tell you what you know - here's the track list:

* Thunderstruck
* Shoot to Thrill
* Back in Black
* Hell Ain’t a Bad Place to Be
* Heatseeker
* Fire Your Guns
* Jailbreak
* The Jack
* Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap
* Moneytalks
* Hells Bells
* High Voltage
* Whole Lotta Rosie
* You Shook Me All Night Long
* T.N.T.
* Let There Be Rock
* Highway To Hell
* For Those About to Rock (We Salute You)

AC/DC LIVE: Rock Band Track Pack
"For fervent fans only."
- AC/DC LIVE: Rock Band Track Pack
Follow Own it? Rating: PG   Difficulty: Medium   Learning Curve: 15 Min


Relevant Articles


Comments Comments (1)

Posted by BathTub
On Wednesday 24 Dec 2008 1:38 PM
I would say it's a fair score, if you're not a fairly big fan of AC/DC you wouldn't be picking it up in the first place. I am only using the disc to get a few Acheivements out of it before it goes back into it's case for a long time.

Did you have any Calibration issues with this Tristan? I had a unusually hard time getting things right.