Wii Music

I was never really interested in Wii Music; I just couldn't see the point. You see, my gaming palette is defined by adventure - interactive titles spark my interest none. Yet despite this, I am hooked on Wii Music. My week has been occupied by late nights split between this and LittleBigPlanet and it's for the same reason; they're both wonderfully unique and highly engaging.

I don't mean to liken the genres of both these games, but instead clearly define the driving principle that makes them each so successful: their creativity. Much unlike Guitar Hero et al, Wii Music is about making music, not just having the fastest reaction time.

 
Ad FeedbackAdvertisement

It seems that music simulation is all the craze right now - if the sales for Guitar Hero and Rock Band are anything to go by - and despite this Wii Music's official announcement was met with many snide remarks.

Sure enough, fanboys of the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 will continue to sit on the internet posting comments about how lame Wii Music is, but it's their loss. Wii fanboys, however, will have something to keep them busy and happy for quite some time. Cammie Dunnaway promised smiles and you're guaranteed to crack some on Wii Music.

There are four instruments to master, and master them you should, as you may go in having a preference for the drums over the guitar, horns and violin and come away preferring the violin. Each, as you'd expect, has a unique way to be played using the Wii Controller. After feeling silly for a little while it's actually rather comfortable, but Wii veterans will be all too familiar with this concept.

Another thing the same people will be familiar with is how sometimes the Wii Controller just won't be as accurate as you'd hope. This is especially apparent in the three mini-games (Mii Maestro, Handbell Harmony and Pitch Perfect) where you'll accidentally hit the wrong note by the slightest margin.

Regardless of these minor control issues, Wii Music is easy to play and can be a very rich and rewarding experience.

Like most games of this nature, Wii Music works best when played with others. Call a few mates over, form a band and let the Quick Jam mode randomly assign you and friends instruments. There's also a Custom Jam mode where you choose the venue, music type and instruments to put on the concert of your dreams. When playing with others who are competent gamers this can get uncontrollably fun. And to top if off, you can record your numbers (approximately 30 will fit on the Wii) and even send them off to your friends via WiiConnect24. Yes, Nintendo do make games with online functionality.

If there's anything to frown about it's the limited selection of songs available. Sure enough, this can be remedied by expansions a la SingStar but I'm of the mind that the core title should be released with a bang, rather than a fizz. Still, it's nice to play along to classic Nintendo theme songs.

Wii Music is a novel and fun experience that will sweep away the hours while you're jamming with your buddies. Give it a chance and you're in for a good time.


Wii Music
"Plain and simple: Wii Music works."
- Wii Music
8.0
Great
 
Follow Own it? Rating: G   Difficulty: Easy   Learning Curve: 15 Min


 

Relevant Articles

 

Comments Comments (25)

 
tkd_matt
Posted by tkd_matt
On Friday 21 Nov 2008 10:16 AM
-
I thought they said at E3 it would have 50 instruments? I guess it misheard them.
 
 
 
tiamat1990
Posted by tiamat1990
On Friday 21 Nov 2008 10:22 AM
-
I'm sorry...what? The audio in this game is f**king atrocious. The song list is also horrible. I swear this game had so much potential.
 
 
 
alienhominid
Posted by alienhominid
On Friday 21 Nov 2008 10:31 AM
-
the ads make it look kinda lame
 
 
 
Mr.Deflok
Posted by Mr.Deflok
On Friday 21 Nov 2008 10:40 AM
-
There's more than sixty instruments but those are the main ones. Sorry that was unclear.
 
 
 
Spidey
Posted by Spidey
On Friday 21 Nov 2008 10:43 AM
-
Stuff gave it a 1.5/5, obviously PS3/260 fan boys.
 
 
 
Koopa18 NZGamer.com VIP VIP Gold
Posted by Koopa18
On Friday 21 Nov 2008 10:55 AM
-
Wow. I came in here expecting a 5 or a 6.

Some people seem to review Wii Music for what it is, and some review it for what they wanted it to be.

This is why there is such a huge difference in the scores.

I myself would never touch it, or maybe hire it overnight just to play with Mute City and Zelda theme. But I wouldnt pay more than a few bucks.
 
 
 
tkd_matt
Posted by tkd_matt
On Friday 21 Nov 2008 10:59 AM
-
The problem I see with this game is that your not really playing the music. It's like there's music playing in another room and with each button press your opening the door to said room, like it's playing regardless of what you do. Not really a fan of midi music either.
 
 
 
Mr.Deflok
Posted by Mr.Deflok
On Friday 21 Nov 2008 11:25 AM
-
21 November 2008, 10:55 AM Reply to Koopa18
Wow. I came in here expecting a 5 or a 6.

Some people seem to review Wii Music for what it is, and some review it for what they wanted it to be.

This is why there is such a huge difference in the scores.

I myself would never touch it, or maybe hire it overnight just to play with Mute City and Zelda theme. But I wouldnt pay more than a few bucks.
Exactly right. Wii Music isn't a robust music simulator but what it is is a charming and fun interactive music game.

As I said from the get-go, I wasn't interested in it at all, but giving a shot for what it is, I came away rather satisfied.

To each their own, though. If the game appeals to you, you're probably going to enjoy it, otherwise don't bother.
 
 
 
Ubercuber NZGamer.com VIP VIP Silver
Posted by Ubercuber
On Friday 21 Nov 2008 12:30 PM
-
Woah...an 8. Featuring hits like Twinkle Twinkle little star.
 
 
 
howzit
Posted by howzit
On Friday 21 Nov 2008 1:47 PM
-
21 November 2008, 12:30 PM Reply to Ubercuber
Woah...an 8. Featuring hits like Twinkle Twinkle little star.
And Mary had a little lamb
 
 
 
littleboyl33t
Posted by littleboyl33t
On Friday 21 Nov 2008 1:50 PM
-
im playing it, ill write the first review other then "Mayur's" review.
 
 
 
Ubercuber NZGamer.com VIP VIP Silver
Posted by Ubercuber
On Friday 21 Nov 2008 2:24 PM
-
21 November 2008, 01:47 PM Reply to howzit
And Mary had a little lamb
Really?

This just went from 'potential purchase' to GOTY!!!!
 
 
 
cute_maori
Posted by cute_maori
On Friday 21 Nov 2008 4:07 PM
-
Yea, awesome.
 
 
 
marbig
Posted by marbig
On Friday 21 Nov 2008 4:25 PM
-
I expected 6.5.
 
 
 
Bigbcbob
Posted by Bigbcbob
On Friday 21 Nov 2008 5:25 PM
-
looks dumb
 
 
 
djshinra NZGamer.com VIP VIP Bronze
Posted by djshinra
On Friday 21 Nov 2008 6:36 PM
-
I wouldn't mind giving it a rent, I haven't used my WII in a while :/
 
 
 
Genocide NZGamer.com VIP VIP Gold
Posted by Genocide
On Friday 21 Nov 2008 9:59 PM
-
So you press buttons in a specific order to make music? Sounds like Boom Boom Rocket, only worse. That game was pretty sweet for an arcade game.
 
 
 
piratemonkey NZGamer.com VIP VIP Bronze
Posted by piratemonkey
On Saturday 22 Nov 2008 9:23 AM
-
Choice of song for the Tv Commercial was unfortunate
 
 
 
KravenMore
Posted by KravenMore
On Saturday 22 Nov 2008 10:23 AM
-
Well colour me surprised because the ad's made it look like a flop. I think I'm still on the same page as many others here and might rent it to give it a go. Guess I'm just a synic.

You guys at NZGamer seem to be heavily into the music/party games, would you rate it up there with singstar or guitar hero? I know it's not quite the same as either of these but that's about the closest comparisson you'll get...
 
 
 
GsUz_KrYsT
Posted by GsUz_KrYsT
On Saturday 22 Nov 2008 2:16 PM
-
I don't like how nintendo made the Mii characters.
They look too childish which makes games support Mii's (such as Wii music) look childish.
 
 
 
GameHooligan
Posted by GameHooligan
On Sunday 23 Nov 2008 10:27 AM
-
the adds on tv make this game look like no skill is involved... could hav been good
 
 
 
Spartana
Posted by Spartana
On Monday 24 Nov 2008 6:24 PM
-
i guess that someone is going to make a weird controller holder for this. ahh we shall see if its any fun, or else bring out the alcohol and really have some fun with it.
 
 
 
itachi
Posted by itachi
On Tuesday 25 Nov 2008 7:58 AM
-
Thank god all a review is just an opinion piece because this game blows hard.
 
 
 
bluntcorpse
Posted by bluntcorpse
On Thursday 27 Nov 2008 5:00 PM
-
The ads really suck. after playing guitar hero then seeing a family of muppets groovin. There have been mixed reviews so can only try to find out.
 
 
 
swordoflight
Posted by swordoflight
On Thursday 9 Apr 2009 10:55 PM
-
Good for the family too play!these are game for fun!