Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare

Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare
 
 

With every Call of Duty release, there are broad strokes that remain the same – things you can rely on to help form your opinion of the game. There’s a bombastic singleplayer campaign that can be chewed through, and then forgotten. There’s multiplayer, filled to the brim with loadouts to tweak, and XP values to rack up. Finally, there’s some sort of co-op mode which will usually contains zombies.

Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare has all these things – and while it does struggle to find its own identity in the multiplayer, changes to the structure of singleplayer provide one of the most compelling narrative experiences in the franchise’s history.

 
Ad FeedbackAdvertisement

On the campaign side of things, you follow Captain Nick Reyes, taking the fight to the Settlement Defense Front after they attack earth and declare all-out war. Unlike previous entries in the series, Infinite Warfare doesn’t wholly follow the 6-to-8-hour campaign model. Interspersed throughout the Michael Bay-esque action sequences are moments of quiet back on your ship, as you read through reports or listen to audio logs.

As brief as these moments can be, the relationships that they foster between you and your crew are tighter than the soppy slow-motion death scenes that previous games relied heavily on. This isn’t a wish-washy tale of greyscale beliefs either; it’s a simple good versus evil battle, with character interaction at the heart of it. Using these stepping stones, the writers manage to explore a single theme – the burden of leadership – in far more depth than other Call of Duty campaigns. One scene in particular is a master stroke, taking the two buttons you’ve been using to kill dudes for years now, and applying them in a way so as to illicit an emotional response. It’s clever, and puts the Advanced Warfare “Hold square to Pay Respects” scene to shame.

Infinite Warfare also features side missions. These optional objectives can be launched from your spaceship between story beats. Each one lasts about 10 minutes, and provides a bit of a palate cleanser – some based around aerial dogfights, and others being stealth oriented. Completing them leads to extra crew interactions, as well as persistent weapon and gear upgrades.

The singleplayer also sports different rules of engagement to shake things up. Standard ground-encounters exist, but they’re interspersed by zero-g combat, and dogfights using your Jackal. The former can get a little messy at times, with adequate cover in 3D space sometimes becoming a hassle to find. The latter controls like a dream however, translating Call of Duty’s button layout to that of a jet’s in an intuitive manner. If you’re insane, there’s also a new difficulty called “Specialist,” which doesn’t have regenerating health and tracks limb-damage. It’s a little antithetical to the fast-paced nature of the game, but it’s a feature that veterans may enjoy.

But if you’re playing Call of Duty, odds are you’re doing it for the multiplayer. Unfortunately, that’s where parts of Infinite Warfare stumble – not due to lack of content, but because of core design. In a world where Advanced Warfare and Black Ops III exist, I was interested to see the spin Infinity Ward would put on character movement. Unfortunately they didn’t have one.

Infinite Warfare uses the same movement model as Black Ops III, with momentum being the focus. Wall running and boosts give you unprecedented speed, but as someone who preferred Advanced Warfare and its lateral dashes, Infinite Warfare’s movement just never quite clicked with me.

Familiar progression and customisation systems underpin a lot of the experience. Ranking up unlocks perks and weapons at set intervals, while the size of your loadout is governed by the familiar pick-10 system. New however are Mission Teams. You can think of them like guilds or factions, each with their own progression tree and unlocks. Each Team levels up by completing different game modes, so you’re encouraged to experiment outside of things like Team Deathmatch and Kill Confirmed.

Among these familiar modes is a new one called Defender. It’s like an extended game of keep-away, where points are rewarded for holding a ball for as long as possible before its location resets. It’s fast-paced, and leads to some rather hilarious one-on-one engagements, where you’re rapidly throwing the ball at an opponent so you can raise your gun and shoot them. Gun Game has also seen a change, sporting random selections of weapons each time for added replayability.

Weapon unlocks have been given a lot more depth, introducing a Diablo-styled rarity system. You’ll unlock recipes for these weapons, which require salvage (a resource gained by playing multiplayer) to then craft. The different tiers offer cosmetic tweaks, but also Destiny-styled perks, like replacing all missed bullets back into your ammo pool. In my time with the game I opted to test out lesser weapons against reviewers wielding rarer ones, and I managed to hold my own just fine, so the power gap shouldn’t be anything to worry about.

Like the Specialist system from Black Ops III, Infinite Warfare introduces Rigs. While each one is visually different, they’re also geared towards particular styles of play – featuring a powerful cooldown ability, and passive traits. My favourite was Synaptic, who would move faster after every kill, and featured the ability to rewind time on himself. Once I found one to my liking however, I never changed my selection.

Also there is a zombies mode. I still feel like my Dad when playing it (in that I have absolutely no idea what is going on), but the shift to a more playful setting makes some of the insanity a little easier to roll with. The bright neon colour palette and cast of characters also provide a nice change of pace from the core game’s dour art style.

Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare doesn’t re-invent the wheel – and given the changing landscape of the series, that’s a very difficult thing to do. While the multiplayer errs on the side of caution, opting for familiar movement in wall runs and boosts, the writing and character-development elevates the singleplayer above the standard action-movie fare that has been the franchise’s norm for so long.


Keith travelled to San Francisco to review Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare, courtesy of Activision.


Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare
"Overly familiar multiplayer, but tells a compelling story."
- Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare
8.5
Great
 
Follow Own it? Rating: R16   Difficulty: Medium   Learning Curve: 15 Min


 

Relevant Articles

 

Comments Comments (50)

 
Posted by LukeB
On Friday 4 Nov 2016 5:34 PM
8
The campaign sounds like fun - but with all the other massive multiplayer titles out at the moment, I wish there was a way to buy it on the cheap without the MP components.
 
 
 
Posted by NZBuc
On Friday 4 Nov 2016 5:50 PM
7
surprised reading this to have it rated above BF1 and TF2
 
 
 
Posted by Ron
On Friday 4 Nov 2016 6:00 PM
3
Downloading the update as I type, some massive file I think. Done in 3 hrs or so ;-(
 
 
 
Posted by KatalystaKaos
On Friday 4 Nov 2016 6:07 PM
3
On a side-note worth mentioning is that the Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare Jackal Assault VR is free to download for everyone(you'll need VR to play). Downloading it now, fingers crossed this will be a decent length space combat experience.
 
 
 
Posted by Nick2016NZ
On Friday 4 Nov 2016 6:14 PM
3
Campaign is boring as all hell, absolutely rubbish. And the multiplayer is like being in a futuristic nightclub on meth with a bunch of ADHD 12 year olds with. Garbage all round. Really caught me by surprise this review, Titanfall is leagues ahead of this throwaway. Pants.
 
 
 
Posted by Nick2016NZ
On Friday 4 Nov 2016 6:16 PM
-1
4 November 2016, 05:50 PM Reply to NZBuc
surprised reading this to have it rated above BF1 and TF2
Yup, this review is laughable to be honest. I know it's one persons opinion but jesus, this game is horrible. I guess some just have bad taste.
 
 
 
Posted by sakuraba
On Friday 4 Nov 2016 6:39 PM
1
I'l probably but it later since I always buy every cod game, it just sounds like a repackaged combo of aw and titan fall at the moment and the pay to play by Activision is a put off.
 
 
 
Posted by KatalystaKaos
On Friday 4 Nov 2016 6:43 PM
5
4 November 2016, 06:16 PM Reply to Nick2016NZ
Yup, this review is laughable to be honest. I know it's one persons opinion but jesus, this game is horrible. I guess some just have bad taste.
But its not just one opinion(unless your referring to your own), currently it's 81.33% at Gamerankings.com
 
 
 
Posted by ricky1981
On Friday 4 Nov 2016 7:00 PM
3
Better than Titanfall 2 & Battlefield 1?! Sorry NZGamer but you've got this one badly wrong IMO :(
 
 
 
Posted by Nick2016NZ
On Friday 4 Nov 2016 8:00 PM
-4
4 November 2016, 07:00 PM Reply to ricky1981
Better than Titanfall 2 & Battlefield 1?! Sorry NZGamer but you've got this one badly wrong IMO :(
Hard. Couldn't believe what I was seeing with this review, normally I agree to a tee with NZG reviews, but this is so far away from what I personally feel, and actually every other review thats out in the wild as of now that it really caught me off guard. Each to their own tho I guess. But better than Titanfall 2 and Battlefield 1? In no reality is that anywhere near correct.
 
 
 
Posted by drunk_monk
On Friday 4 Nov 2016 8:37 PM
11
4 November 2016, 08:00 PM Reply to Nick2016NZ
Hard. Couldn't believe what I was seeing with this review, normally I agree to a tee with NZG reviews, but this is so far away from what I personally feel, and actually every other review thats out in the wild as of now that it really caught me off guard. Each to their own tho I guess. But better than Titanfall 2 and Battlefield 1? In no reality is that anywhere near correct.
I don't believe Keith reviewed either of those games so the comparison doesn't totally work on a score to score basis.

But you disagree with the review, that's cool.
 
 
 
Posted by NZBuc
On Friday 4 Nov 2016 8:46 PM
2
4 November 2016, 06:16 PM Reply to Nick2016NZ
Yup, this review is laughable to be honest. I know it's one persons opinion but jesus, this game is horrible. I guess some just have bad taste.
I meant that the content of the review lead me to expect a score lower than the other two games, as IIRC they were a bit more positive

Still - a heap of great games released in last month or so!
 
 
 
Posted by ThatUndeadLegacy
On Friday 4 Nov 2016 10:44 PM
-8
8.5 really? how is this better than bf1? and it's even 130gb they really need to compress their files better, also i hope this review isn't counting cod 4 remaster in it because its an entirely different game. meh i wont buy it anyway, the cod community on pc is nearly non existent, apparently they have better things to play?
 
This comment has been down-voted by the community.  
 
Posted by captain X nz
On Saturday 5 Nov 2016 12:28 AM
-
Maybe it's a better game in San Francisco.

I'm happy with BF for the scale and nature if the games, the twitchy nature of CoD put me off a long time ago, would only be picking it up for the Modern Warfare remaster.
 
 
 
Posted by ThatUndeadLegacy
On Saturday 5 Nov 2016 2:08 AM
1
5 November 2016, 12:28 AM Reply to captain X nz
Maybe it's a better game in San Francisco.

I'm happy with BF for the scale and nature if the games, the twitchy nature of CoD put me off a long time ago, would only be picking it up for the Modern Warfare remaster.
They will prob released cod 4 remaster separated a month later anyway. and put a full $60 price tag on it, wouldn't put it past them tbh.
 
 
 
oconnomiyaki
Posted by oconnomiyaki
On Saturday 5 Nov 2016 6:04 AM
7
Owning Battlefield 1, Titanfall 2, and Infinite Warfare, the latter is the only one I regret purchasing. Game is awful, the same jacked up circle-running that puts you with a peashooter against people with an arsenal that would make the US military blush because they abuse Centrelink and WINZ and sit around all day playing. It's about as much fun as a swift kick to the testicles. A four-hour campaign can't save it, especially at the high cost of admission for even the standard version.
 
 
 
Posted by Gadgetgamers
On Saturday 5 Nov 2016 11:21 AM
3
Just getting in to this, so still unsure, lots of big maps with cool effects, nice guns, so far cool.
 
 
 
Posted by predatorhunter
On Saturday 5 Nov 2016 1:45 PM
-20
How much are they paying you for this review?
 
This comment has been down-voted by the community.  
 
Posted by ThatUndeadLegacy
On Saturday 5 Nov 2016 4:10 PM
-14
5 November 2016, 01:45 PM Reply to predatorhunter
How much are they paying you for this review?
People stop disliking him, he has a good point, a lot of the reviews are much too high, it's very strange. i mean i expect it from ign but still xD
 
This comment has been down-voted by the community.  
 
Posted by sakuraba
On Saturday 5 Nov 2016 5:12 PM
9
I think that just because the reviewer likes it is no reason to hate on him. Not everybody is a bf fan.
 
 
 
Posted by ThatUndeadLegacy
On Saturday 5 Nov 2016 8:25 PM
-8
5 November 2016, 05:12 PM Reply to sakuraba
I think that just because the reviewer likes it is no reason to hate on him. Not everybody is a bf fan.
but most would recognize bf1 as a better game no?
 
This comment has been down-voted by the community.  
 
Posted by Syn-Ryn
On Saturday 5 Nov 2016 8:36 PM
7
5 November 2016, 08:25 PM Reply to ThatUndeadLegacy
but most would recognize bf1 as a better game no?
A review is still one persons opinion, what does it matter what most people would think? Also it's an 8.4 versus an 8.5, how much a difference do you really think that makes?
 
 
 
Posted by Coddfish
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 12:31 AM
8
5 November 2016, 08:25 PM Reply to ThatUndeadLegacy
but most would recognize bf1 as a better game no?
Nobody's saying Infinite Warfare is better than Battlefield 1 (or Titanfall 2). The score is a rough, quick reflection of the reviewer's overall opinion on the game, not some sort of science, so trying to compare them directly really serves no point. Especially not when the reviews are from different people.

Also, I know you find it fun to be a super ~edgy~ troll, but your sh*tposting isn't achieving anything except making people dislike you. Maybe calm down a bit. At the very least, try putting some thought and originality into your spam.
 
 
 
Posted by Nick2016NZ
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 1:08 AM
-12
5 November 2016, 01:45 PM Reply to predatorhunter
How much are they paying you for this review?
Well there is the ad for it that pops up and forces you to close it everytime you visit the site, no to mention it's plastered every else you look on here lately, so I'm guessing the advertising has something to do with it. Wouldn't be surprised if Activision said "Score it well, or no more advertising money for you".
 
This comment has been down-voted by the community.  
 
Posted by Paorio
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 2:55 AM
11
Guys look at what we have become, don't let a review that doesn't fit your expectations turn you into angry little gremlins
 
 
 
Posted by ThatUndeadLegacy
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 3:21 AM
-15
6 November 2016, 12:31 AM Reply to Coddfish
Nobody's saying Infinite Warfare is better than Battlefield 1 (or Titanfall 2). The score is a rough, quick reflection of the reviewer's overall opinion on the game, not some sort of science, so trying to compare them directly really serves no point. Especially not when the reviews are from different people.

Also, I know you find it fun to be a super ~edgy~ troll, but your sh*tposting isn't achieving anything except making people dislike you. Maybe calm down a bit. At the very least, try putting some thought and originality into your spam.
Im not trying to be "edgy", the people here just seem to get butt hurt easily,
 
This comment has been down-voted by the community.  
 
Posted by Mafivee
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 9:44 AM
8
6 November 2016, 02:55 AM Reply to Paorio
Guys look at what we have become, don't let a review that doesn't fit your expectations turn you into angry little gremlins
This.

Reading through these comments feels like I've just walked through a s***storm. And it's all over a game review, a persons opinion of what they experienced.

If reviews rustle your jimmies, simply don't read or watch them.
 
 
 
Posted by kiwiatlarge
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 10:58 AM
2
Soooo.. how is the COD4 Remaster? That's the one we really care about, amirite?
 
 
 
Posted by KatalystaKaos
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 11:17 AM
2
6 November 2016, 03:21 AM Reply to ThatUndeadLegacy
Im not trying to be "edgy", the people here just seem to get butt hurt easily,
I think your getting us not tolerating fools mixed up with having our feelings hurt in your reference to prison sex.

Have you played either BF1 or the new COD? Previous comments you made suggested COD is beneath a player your ilks illustrious standards.
 
 
 
Posted by Bank
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 11:51 AM
3
I do know Keith has been critical on the majority of games I find cool or amazing. So to my surprise I see this, after expecting COD to not tickle his fancy - and I see the thread. RIP.

Ireland VS All Blacks. What a day. Hype!
 
 
 
Posted by ChieftaiNZ
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 12:30 PM
4
6 November 2016, 11:17 AM Reply to KatalystaKaos
I think your getting us not tolerating fools mixed up with having our feelings hurt in your reference to prison sex.

Have you played either BF1 or the new COD? Previous comments you made suggested COD is beneath a player your ilks illustrious standards.
I don't think they play videogames. How else would they have the time to boost bull sh*t 24/7?
 
 
 
Posted by ChieftaiNZ
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 12:34 PM
-1
6 November 2016, 03:21 AM Reply to ThatUndeadLegacy
Im not trying to be "edgy", the people here just seem to get butt hurt easily,
Maybe we do get butthurt easily. its probably because its not use to it, because apart from you, there are no trolls who post crap all the time.
 
 
 
Posted by LukeB
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 2:28 PM
16
Wow... looks like I missed a lot of chaos. All I can say is to please remember that different reviewers have different tastes, and to let the words speak louder than the final score.

Cool to see all the love that Titanfall 2 and Battlefield 1 are getting, but insinuating that Keith is being paid to give a higher score is incredibly uncalled for - it's clear that he enjoyed the story, and while according to the review the multiplayer doesn't do much new, it's still the high quality gameplay the series is known for, and the graphics look amazing... it should also be noted that 8.2 (TF2), 8.4 (BF`), and 8.5 (IW) are all "Great" scores, and that you should - as I said - let the words for each of those reviews speak louder than the quick-look numbers at the end, and combine those scores with your own personal preferences as to whether you feel the game will be right for you.

The beauty of opinions is that everyone has one, and now would be a nice time to remind you that you can submit your own reviews for the games (check the link under the screenshots up the top of the review, on the right-hand side, or find out how to here: http://nzgamer.com/about/faqs/#q3), or perhaps get a little creative and, for example, write a blog explaining what you think of the CoD, Titanfall, and Battlefield franchises (http://nzgamer.com/about/faqs/#q9) - and if you decide to, good luck :)
 
 
 
Posted by toner
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 3:16 PM
9
As the comments have said, a review is one person's opinion. Keith clearly justified his score in the review, and while I'm not a CoD fan, his explanation about how the changes improve the game allows me to see why, in his opinion, IW is an improvement upon the previous CoD iterations. Maybe you don't agree, and that's fine, but nobody is "right" or "wrong" here.

Secondly, as LukeB said above, an 8.0, 8.4 and 8.5 are all classified under "great", which means while IW's score is higher, all three games are within the same realm of quality. A 0.1 score above BF1 isn't worth being in an uproar about. A score is just a number, the written word justifying why that score is given, is the real meat of the review.

And suggesting that Activision is paying for NZGamer.com to score IW high is absurd. It is the publishing company's role to advertise in relevant areas to market the game, not so review sites can give them better scores - journalistic integrity would be compromised.
 
 
 
Posted by Outlaw213
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 4:57 PM
10
Maybe I should return Battlefield 1 since it scored lower than CoD Infinite Warfare.

Or you know, just stop letting review scores determine what you buy and play.

I buy Battlefield games well in advance without even reading a single review, it's the same with most games that I care about.

Reviews are always just opinions anyway. People read into review scores way too much these days.
 
 
 
Posted by ThatUndeadLegacy
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 5:18 PM
-6
6 November 2016, 03:21 AM Reply to ThatUndeadLegacy
Im not trying to be "edgy", the people here just seem to get butt hurt easily,
Thanks for proving my point.
 
This comment has been down-voted by the community.  
 
Posted by drunk_monk
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 6:02 PM
8
6 November 2016, 05:18 PM Reply to ThatUndeadLegacy
Thanks for proving my point.
Did you just reply to your own post? You know you can talk to yourself without the internet right?
 
 
 
Posted by Syn-Ryn
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 6:16 PM
6
6 November 2016, 03:21 AM Reply to ThatUndeadLegacy
Im not trying to be "edgy", the people here just seem to get butt hurt easily,
The fact you're not trying to be edgy just means you're completely unaware of how cringe-worthy you are. Anyone who thinks you're sh*tposting ironically is giving you too much credit.
 
 
 
Posted by Benny
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 7:40 PM
7
Being the person who reviewed BF1 and Titanfall 2 on this site - review scores aren't a universal metric every reviewer has to align perfectly with the last and so forth. What they should do is give you a rough estimate, relative to each writer. They're not meant to be collated and over-thought like some people do - a kind of numerical legalism I actually said Titanfall 2 is what the first game was trying to be, despite the other reviewer giving Titanfall 1 a higher score.

I haven't played Infinite Wafare, though I also saw a review from someone else I respect just as highly as Keith - someone who looks past the obvious.
 
 
 
Posted by NZGamer
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 8:14 PM
16
Good Evening, we stand by our belief that a member has the right to free speech around our content, but this doesn't extend to name calling of each other - we are all bigger than that. You have been warned, keep it on topic.
 
 
 
Posted by Nick2016NZ
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 9:04 PM
-
Lol everyone just calm down and go play some Battlefield 1 or Titanfall 2 :-p
 
 
 
Posted by kiwiatlarge
On Sunday 6 Nov 2016 9:08 PM
5
6 November 2016, 09:04 PM Reply to Nick2016NZ
Lol everyone just calm down and go play some Battlefield 1 or Titanfall 2 :-p
Or load up that digital copy of COD4 Remaster that comes with the $200 version of IW.. :P
 
 
 
Posted by captain X nz
On Monday 7 Nov 2016 8:46 AM
2
I think a lot of this conflict comes back to - "Are review scores relevant?"

It's been pointed out here that there is no real science and in discussions many feel they are a yardstick, but don't express value in a release.

If everybody re-read these 3 reviews without scores, taking their time to digest the writers opinion and form their own, would the name calling, trolling and whinging stop?
 
 
 
Posted by ptys
On Monday 7 Nov 2016 9:37 AM
-1
Wow, large number comments for COD (including this). Expect to see more coverage on the site now as clicks=value.
 
 
 
Posted by ThatUndeadLegacy
On Monday 7 Nov 2016 4:22 PM
-3
6 November 2016, 06:16 PM Reply to Syn-Ryn
The fact you're not trying to be edgy just means you're completely unaware of how cringe-worthy you are. Anyone who thinks you're sh*tposting ironically is giving you too much credit.
Thanks for telling me how cringe-worthy i am, i know realize my true potential! I should get a job that just pisses people off, like telemarketing.
 
 
 
Posted by jtbthatsme
On Monday 7 Nov 2016 7:05 PM
4
Although I am a little surprised to see a 8.5 score here it is just an opinion. I don't buy games based on the opinion of others I buy them on my opinion and the interest I have in them.

I am a little disappointed though by the comments section here it's more what I expect to see on another gaming site.
 
 
 
Posted by haydengies
On Tuesday 8 Nov 2016 8:44 PM
1
looks pretty decent
 
 
 
Posted by maxnaughty
On Friday 11 Nov 2016 12:47 PM
-
Definitely going to get this!
 
 
 
Posted by thc4108
On Saturday 12 Nov 2016 4:46 PM
-
Had fun on campaign .Finding games on search and destroy was hard not many people playing it .Like bf1 and titanfall more overall.Just my opinion anyway
 
 
 
Posted by Wilkinstein
On Saturday 11 Mar 2017 5:42 PM
-
First COD game I havn't bought since Black Ops 1. Would like to play Modern Warfare remastered!