Resident Evil 6

When a new, numbered title in the Resident Evil franchise is announced, it’s only a matter of time before the cries of “How will they ruin it this time?” and “bring back the tank controls!” are heard. With Resident Evil 6 it was no different and, honestly, that sort of reaction was well deserved.

With Resident Evil 5 removing the horror aspect of the franchise, in favour of run and gun gameplay, and chucking in the suspense-destroyer that is co-op, people were well within their rights to worry about the newest entry in the franchise. However, this isn't RE5, and it’s possible that where Capcom is steering the series is, in fact, in the right direction.

 
Ad FeedbackAdvertisement

It’s hard to talk about the story in Resident Evil 6 without giving away too much, and it’s hard to even pinpoint how the story starts, as different players may start the game in different ways. Unlike any Resident Evil before it, RE6 gives you the option of three different campaigns, each with its own start, story arc, and ending. While Resident Evil 2 had something similar, what you really got back then was the same story told from a slightly different angle. This time you have three stories each with their own unique characters, enemies, boss fights, and plot twists.

Capcom have gone all out to make each campaign feel different from the others and have gone as far as giving new HUD designs to each one. While that may seem like a small change, mixed with the varied gameplay it's enough to make every campaign feel like a separate game.

Again, avoiding spoilers, Leon’s campaign plays like RE4: it doesn't have what made the old games what they were but it’s still suspenseful, with enemies that range from mindless flesh eating “zombies” to slightly more intelligent “zombies”. Chris’ campaign plays like a more action heavy RE5: lots of running and shooting. The third campaign stars a new character to the franchise: Jake Muller. Jake’s campaign feels like a mix between RE3 and RE5: there’s plenty of shooting and running involved, but there’s a damn good reason he's running...

Each campaign can be played co-op, as each main character has a partner to help take them through the horrors that have spread through China. Leon has Helena: a woman Leon meets in the middle of a new outbreak who knows more than she’s saying. Chris has Piers: a soldier who has worked alongside Chris before and has been tasked with finding him and bringing him back into the fight. Jake has Sherry: everyone’s favourite girl in distress from RE2, albeit a little older and better with a gun. You can choose whoever you want from each campaign and the other character can be controlled by either AI, a fellow gamer next to you, or over Xbox Live.

With that out of the way, let’s talk about what everyone is looking for when jumping into a Resident Evil review: how is it different, and is it good or bad? It’s best to start this part of the review by stating one thing very clearly: fans of the old Resident Evil games need to accept that the franchise has changed. It’s hard to watch something you love change away from what it originated as, but when you’re finished with RE6 you’ll be hard-pressed to call the experience anything but superb.

While it’s easy to worry about having a melee button you can use whenever you like, or that you can dive out of the way of an attack and then fire from a prone position, it ends up just making sense in the context of the scenarios you’ll be put into. For instance, there are WAY more bad guys this time through. Not only will you be firing a lot of rounds, but you’ll be wishing you had more.

That’s where the melee option comes in handy. Soften them up with a few rounds and finish them off with a head stomp or a couple of punches to the face. Of course, it’d be way too convenient to just punch or kick your way through the game, so each character also has an energy bar - that thankfully doesn’t drain while running. Throw too many punches and you’ll soon be delivering nothing stronger than a tap and trying to evade the enemies with a slow paced jog. When all is said and done, this is the first Resident Evil game in over a decade that will force you to think about whether you should just cut your losses and head for the door, and that’s on normal difficulty.

Thankfully, there are some nods to the original games littered throughout the experience; it’s just a shame to see them end so abruptly. What might hit home harder than most of the gameplay changes is the complete absence of notes and diary entries that you pick up and read along the way. While they can be unlocked via shooting emblems (ala RE4 and 5), it’s something that just felt wrong. It’s not until you realise that the game can never pause, for anything, that it makes this decision understandable. Desirable? No, but definitely understandable.

That's right: unlike any Resident Evil game before it, RE6 does not pause during gameplay. Hitting Start does nothing and, even if you’re checking out sound / controller options, it’s via the character's in-game gadget. You can and will be attacked by some form of monstrosity if you think that you might want a different colour laser sight in the middle of a fight. Unless, of course, you can get whatever change you need done before something can get to you.

Variation is the key to RE6, and it’s shown in every aspect of the game. Like every Resident Evil game, there’s a large selection of guns to find / unlock along your way. There's also variation in the characters you can play as, and in the places you’ll go. But nothing says variation more than the insane amount of infected you’ll be coming to blows with. Capcom have done older fans a huge service by bringing back slow, mindless enemies that want nothing other than to feed on you. While they work well in the new action style gameplay, as you start taking them down and newer types start showing up it becomes apparent that slow zombies by themselves just wouldn't work.

Soon they’ll come at you with weapons stuck into them, then they’ll start hitting you with things, and if they happened to turn while holding guns they’ll randomly pull the trigger. What makes this better than previous gun-toting parasites from other RE games is the fact that these guys don’t aim at you, they’re just pulling the trigger mindlessly. But that’s not to say that there won’t be infected creatures lining you up in their sights. You see, a lot of the infected you’ll meet aren't as stupid as the ones in previous games. In RE6 they’re essentially humans on steroids.... creepy parasitic steroids.

Continue reading on page 2.




 

Relevant Articles

 

Comments Comments (30)

 
haydensomething
Posted by haydensomething
On Tuesday 2 Oct 2012 10:34 AM
4
Great review, very thorough!

It's a shame I have to wait for the PC version to be ported over though =

I loved RE5, only issue i had with it was the slightly clumsy PC controls and the cursed quicktime events..
 
 
 
PunisherNZL
Posted by PunisherNZL
On Tuesday 2 Oct 2012 11:46 AM
7
2 October 2012, 10:34 AM Reply to haydensomething
Great review, very thorough!

It's a shame I have to wait for the PC version to be ported over though =

I loved RE5, only issue i had with it was the slightly clumsy PC controls and the cursed quicktime events..
get a ps3 or xbox then u wouldnt have 2 wait!! SIMPLE!
 
 
 
Funk_Oddysey
Posted by Funk_Oddysey
On Tuesday 2 Oct 2012 12:11 PM
4
It's interesting to see that RE6 has scores ranging from 4.5 to 9.5 out of 10, this is really a play it yourself and make your own opinion of it kind of game. What's even more interesting is that they may remake RE2 if the fans wanted it enough...
 
 
 
Posted by Newsboy
On Tuesday 2 Oct 2012 12:33 PM
3
2 October 2012, 12:11 PM Reply to Funk_Oddysey
It's interesting to see that RE6 has scores ranging from 4.5 to 9.5 out of 10, this is really a play it yourself and make your own opinion of it kind of game. What's even more interesting is that they may remake RE2 if the fans wanted it enough...
I would KILL for an RE2 remake. As long as they keep everything that made it what it was. Either a remake in the same vein as REmake or with the RE6 engine but keeping all the cool old school stuff.
 
 
 
Posted by KatalystaKaos
On Tuesday 2 Oct 2012 2:21 PM
4
2 October 2012, 11:46 AM Reply to PunisherNZL
get a ps3 or xbox then u wouldnt have 2 wait!! SIMPLE!
Agreed, A 2nd hand console can be picked up so cheap these days it makes no sense to have to wait. Then if pick it up on PC later :)
 
 
 
OrkMischief
Posted by OrkMischief
On Wednesday 3 Oct 2012 8:20 AM
5
I've Played from REzero - RE5 and the RE remake is by far my favourite in the series. I will not be playing RE6 untill its in the bargain bins.
Dead Space has taken over as the go to survival horror games now, and Zombie U looks very promising the more I see it.
 
 
 
rondachewarrior
Posted by rondachewarrior
On Wednesday 3 Oct 2012 12:46 PM
-
Shame I can't get this cos of money issues and my ps3 broke. But I've seen that you can now equip skills in mercenaries like +10 time bonuses and quick reload (which I think's pretty pointless).

Awesome review though!
 
 
 
havicdavis
Posted by havicdavis
On Wednesday 3 Oct 2012 1:05 PM
-
Wow, completely different review to other ones ive been hearing about this game. Awesome.
 
 
 
Posted by Ron
On Wednesday 3 Oct 2012 1:30 PM
-
It opens a pretty good discussion around the evolution vs. revolution of a gaming franchise. The RE series changed from RE4, and further change has occurred in RE5 and now RE6. But wouldn't people be complaining about how Resident Evil needed to change from a survival horror title to something else if they continued to go down that road all these years? Don't get me wrong, I love a good scare and in the past it delivered that, but it was time to move on.
 
 
 
roysax
Posted by roysax
On Wednesday 3 Oct 2012 3:20 PM
-
What is this? I don't even! Higher than Borderlands 2 smh. Oh & theres also a 3/10 review, so the range has increased. The user score on Metacritic at the moment is 0.6, ouch.
 
 
 
Posted by Newsboy
On Wednesday 3 Oct 2012 4:22 PM
-
3 October 2012, 03:20 PM Reply to roysax
What is this? I don't even! Higher than Borderlands 2 smh. Oh & theres also a 3/10 review, so the range has increased. The user score on Metacritic at the moment is 0.6, ouch.
Currently playing through Borderlands 2 and I have to say that I enjoyed RE6 much more than I'm enjoying Borderlands 2. I'm still enjoying B2 though.
 
 
 
Posted by kiwiatlarge
On Wednesday 3 Oct 2012 6:06 PM
-
3 October 2012, 01:30 PM Reply to Ron
It opens a pretty good discussion around the evolution vs. revolution of a gaming franchise. The RE series changed from RE4, and further change has occurred in RE5 and now RE6. But wouldn't people be complaining about how Resident Evil needed to change from a survival horror title to something else if they continued to go down that road all these years? Don't get me wrong, I love a good scare and in the past it delivered that, but it was time to move on.
Yeah, I hear you Ron.. Look at Silent Hill. It has always failed to reach the lofty heights of the first two, but has always come under the gun of the music not being quite right, or the atmosphere is off, or the combat is too combatish.

I'm all for a good survival horror... in fact I'd love a current gen one which the visuals and audio can really take advantage of it.. but I think it'll have to be via a new IP.

You can only take sequels so far... F.E.A.R and Dead Space have dropped survival and scares for action, so Resident Evil isn't alone.
 
 
 
Posted by Twilight_Aurora
On Wednesday 3 Oct 2012 9:22 PM
3
3 October 2012, 06:06 PM Reply to kiwiatlarge
Yeah, I hear you Ron.. Look at Silent Hill. It has always failed to reach the lofty heights of the first two, but has always come under the gun of the music not being quite right, or the atmosphere is off, or the combat is too combatish.

I'm all for a good survival horror... in fact I'd love a current gen one which the visuals and audio can really take advantage of it.. but I think it'll have to be via a new IP.

You can only take sequels so far... F.E.A.R and Dead Space have dropped survival and scares for action, so Resident Evil isn't alone.
Dead Space is still a survival-horror, even with the 2nd one. Although slightly less scary then the 1st, it is as tense and atmospheric. Not sure what the 3rd one will be, that seems to be way more action-orientated, but hopefully it can retain the feeling of being alone with not much ammo like the others did, with a few scares along the way.
 
 
 
happynow
Posted by happynow
On Friday 5 Oct 2012 3:16 AM
1
Cool game!I have played it, you will not be disappointed!
 
 
 
Posted by fauzman
On Friday 5 Oct 2012 1:58 PM
-
3 October 2012, 06:06 PM Reply to kiwiatlarge
Yeah, I hear you Ron.. Look at Silent Hill. It has always failed to reach the lofty heights of the first two, but has always come under the gun of the music not being quite right, or the atmosphere is off, or the combat is too combatish.

I'm all for a good survival horror... in fact I'd love a current gen one which the visuals and audio can really take advantage of it.. but I think it'll have to be via a new IP.

You can only take sequels so far... F.E.A.R and Dead Space have dropped survival and scares for action, so Resident Evil isn't alone.
I agree with some of your points. Its obvious that with RE6, Capcom were trying to grow the franchise more by tapping into the shooter-liking gamer crowd. And that is laudable and only natural. However by doing that, they are angering some of the core RE fans who want the survival horror experience. As someone has already mentioned, user scores for both xbox and ps3 versions of the game are <1 so they might be gaining some other gamers at the expense of the traditional RE fans.
 
 
 
simplyterrible
Posted by simplyterrible
On Friday 5 Oct 2012 6:22 PM
1
3 October 2012, 01:30 PM Reply to Ron
It opens a pretty good discussion around the evolution vs. revolution of a gaming franchise. The RE series changed from RE4, and further change has occurred in RE5 and now RE6. But wouldn't people be complaining about how Resident Evil needed to change from a survival horror title to something else if they continued to go down that road all these years? Don't get me wrong, I love a good scare and in the past it delivered that, but it was time to move on.
Hey Ron, this is posed to both you and writer of this review Reagan Morris.
I absolutely agree with you that changes can be made to a franchise in order to keep it relevant, but using Resident Evil 6 as your example is simply wrong.
It's like saying that adaptations must stick to the source material then citing Battleship as the best example.

Here's the question I have for both you and the reviewer of this game;
Is Resident Evil 6 such a monumental success deserving of a 9.5 that you would say this is the change that the franchise needs? To the action-shooter genre?
A genre that has already been populated by Gears of War, Uncharted and Mass Effect that the likes of Resident Evil, XCOM and Dead Space need to drop their respective genres to keep up with the times?

Why?
 
 
 
simplyterrible
Posted by simplyterrible
On Friday 5 Oct 2012 6:24 PM
2
5 October 2012, 01:58 PM Reply to fauzman
I agree with some of your points. Its obvious that with RE6, Capcom were trying to grow the franchise more by tapping into the shooter-liking gamer crowd. And that is laudable and only natural. However by doing that, they are angering some of the core RE fans who want the survival horror experience. As someone has already mentioned, user scores for both xbox and ps3 versions of the game are <1 so they might be gaining some other gamers at the expense of the traditional RE fans.
Why even call it Resident Evil then?
 
 
 
Posted by Newsboy
On Friday 5 Oct 2012 8:10 PM
1
5 October 2012, 06:22 PM Reply to simplyterrible
Hey Ron, this is posed to both you and writer of this review Reagan Morris.
I absolutely agree with you that changes can be made to a franchise in order to keep it relevant, but using Resident Evil 6 as your example is simply wrong.
It's like saying that adaptations must stick to the source material then citing Battleship as the best example.

Here's the question I have for both you and the reviewer of this game;
Is Resident Evil 6 such a monumental success deserving of a 9.5 that you would say this is the change that the franchise needs? To the action-shooter genre?
A genre that has already been populated by Gears of War, Uncharted and Mass Effect that the likes of Resident Evil, XCOM and Dead Space need to drop their respective genres to keep up with the times?

Why?
Bloody good question, simplyterrible.

Do I think this is the direction Resident Evil should go? Nope, not at all. I'd love to see it return to its roots in almost every way (I'm not sure we need storage crates though). I absolutely adore the REmake, RE2 and RE4, they're easily the highlights of what I consider to be "Resident Evil". In saying all that, just because the game isn't what I personally want out of a Resident Evil game it doesn't mean I didn't enjoy the non-stop rollercoaster ride that was RE6.

Before I received RE6 in my hands I had absolutely no intention of picking up the game. After RE5 I had resigned myself to the fact that Resident Evil was dead and that I didn't care if the RE6 was good, it wasn't going to be Resident Evil. I'd argue that there are aspects of RE6 that feel like RE, but it just doesn't happen enough.

Maybe RE6 (and possibly 5) should have been released under a different name, with different characters, but the characters they have do seem to work with what they've put together. In the end, I don't think RE6 is a perfect game, it has flaws that may (and clearly have) annoyed some gamers and critics, but they just weren't enough to take away from the insane fun I was having.

So to answer the question, no I don't think Resident Evil needs to go down the 3rd person shooter route, and I'd prefer it to go back to its roots a bit more, but at the same time I am loving what Capcom have done with the series. RE6 had me hooked from start to finish.

As far as the score goes, I can think of plenty of things wrong with games that have rated an AVERAGE of 9+. Oblivion looks disgusting, animation is terrible, simple things like splash particles are missing and there are clearly some broken game mechanics in there as well. Uncharted 3 (as much as I ADORED that game) had moments that left me incredibly frustrated due to broken segments -- having to run straight along a roof, while the camera swings out to the side and if you miss that precise footing you will fail.... numerous times.

So in the end I COMPLETELY stand by my rating and decision when it comes to RE6. 4 campaigns with one giant interwoven story. Great co-op opportunities that worked flawlessly for me. Agent Hunt mode is awesome. Plenty of unlockables and HOT DAMN that presentation.

I understand that people have gripes with the QTEs, I appreciate that, but they didn't hold me back or frustrate my playthrough (plus I adored Asura's Wrath). I do find it strange that no-one seems to have enjoyed it as much as I did.
 
 
 
Posted by Newsboy
On Friday 5 Oct 2012 8:14 PM
-
5 October 2012, 08:10 PM Reply to Newsboy
Bloody good question, simplyterrible.

Do I think this is the direction Resident Evil should go? Nope, not at all. I'd love to see it return to its roots in almost every way (I'm not sure we need storage crates though). I absolutely adore the REmake, RE2 and RE4, they're easily the highlights of what I consider to be "Resident Evil". In saying all that, just because the game isn't what I personally want out of a Resident Evil game it doesn't mean I didn't enjoy the non-stop rollercoaster ride that was RE6.

Before I received RE6 in my hands I had absolutely no intention of picking up the game. After RE5 I had resigned myself to the fact that Resident Evil was dead and that I didn't care if the RE6 was good, it wasn't going to be Resident Evil. I'd argue that there are aspects of RE6 that feel like RE, but it just doesn't happen enough.

Maybe RE6 (and possibly 5) should have been released under a different name, with different characters, but the characters they have do seem to work with what they've put together. In the end, I don't think RE6 is a perfect game, it has flaws that may (and clearly have) annoyed some gamers and critics, but they just weren't enough to take away from the insane fun I was having.

So to answer the question, no I don't think Resident Evil needs to go down the 3rd person shooter route, and I'd prefer it to go back to its roots a bit more, but at the same time I am loving what Capcom have done with the series. RE6 had me hooked from start to finish.

As far as the score goes, I can think of plenty of things wrong with games that have rated an AVERAGE of 9+. Oblivion looks disgusting, animation is terrible, simple things like splash particles are missing and there are clearly some broken game mechanics in there as well. Uncharted 3 (as much as I ADORED that game) had moments that left me incredibly frustrated due to broken segments -- having to run straight along a roof, while the camera swings out to the side and if you miss that precise footing you will fail.... numerous times.

So in the end I COMPLETELY stand by my rating and decision when it comes to RE6. 4 campaigns with one giant interwoven story. Great co-op opportunities that worked flawlessly for me. Agent Hunt mode is awesome. Plenty of unlockables and HOT DAMN that presentation.

I understand that people have gripes with the QTEs, I appreciate that, but they didn't hold me back or frustrate my playthrough (plus I adored Asura's Wrath). I do find it strange that no-one seems to have enjoyed it as much as I did.
Oh I'm Reagan btw :)
 
 
 
CheeseTastic
Posted by CheeseTastic
On Friday 5 Oct 2012 10:04 PM
-
5 October 2012, 06:24 PM Reply to simplyterrible
Why even call it Resident Evil then?
This is the main question that needs to be asked. Change is all well and good, but is this still called Resident Evil, ONLY to get more money?
 
 
 
aerozol
Posted by aerozol
On Saturday 6 Oct 2012 5:20 PM
-
Loved RE 4, but RE 5 fell apart for me, I thought it was extremely sloppy.
Where does this sit with those two?
 
 
 
SayVarRee
Posted by SayVarRee
On Sunday 7 Oct 2012 2:09 PM
-
One of the best games this year. The game-play is amazing. You have so many more options at your disposal. Quick shot, roll, jump back, shoulder switch, dodge, easy to switch weapons, R1 one-hit kills intuitive game-play at its best.

Overhauled herb system is fantastic. Not only is it easy to assign meds but it now allows you to heal incrementally at will allowing players to better manage their health how they see fit.

Basically the game has given you more options in combat and made inventory management easier.

The game has evolved for the better.
 
 
 
Arkterus
Posted by Arkterus
On Monday 8 Oct 2012 8:03 PM
-
Why is it that everyone says you can't pause Resident Evil 6? It is very simple... You play in online game you can't pause, you play in an offline game you can pause. The same is true for Resident Evil 6.

It's not exactly rocket science
 
 
 
deepbrownsamurai
Posted by deepbrownsamurai
On Thursday 11 Oct 2012 4:53 PM
-
good review. i may buy it later this year.
 
 
 
Arkterus
Posted by Arkterus
On Sunday 14 Oct 2012 9:47 AM
-
3 October 2012, 08:20 AM Reply to OrkMischief
I've Played from REzero - RE5 and the RE remake is by far my favourite in the series. I will not be playing RE6 untill its in the bargain bins.
Dead Space has taken over as the go to survival horror games now, and Zombie U looks very promising the more I see it.
I'm in the exact same boat. I've played REZero-RE5 ( 5 left a bad taste in my mouth) and I was no keen to even care about the next RE, but I'm glad to say this review is pretty accurate.

RE6 is similar to RE5 in terms of similar game play, but it's taken a small step back to the originals with this one. All I can say is give it a go.
 
 
 
tnzk
Posted by tnzk
On Monday 15 Oct 2012 12:08 AM
-
It would be great if you guys did a one year later "post-script" analysis of the game. I had a go of the demo. I had a go of the game. This video sums up what Resident Evil 6 is to me, and obviously the majority of other gamers:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7LrVou1Jo7w&feature=youtube_gdata_player

"Fans need to accept that Resident Evil has changed". A pretty patronizing comment, and so far off the mark about what is wrong with RE6. I'm no RE fan, but you can literally feel the design-by-comittee vibe seeping through every frame of this nonsense.

Reviewer's integrity and all, but 9.5 is a legendary score. Time will tell if it is becoming of a legendary game.
 
 
 
Posted by Newsboy
On Monday 15 Oct 2012 12:15 PM
2
I'm fine with people not enjoying it, but this is one of the best gaming experiences I've had in 2012 and I stick by more score weeks later.
 
 
 
Jermachi
Posted by Jermachi
On Friday 12 Apr 2013 8:13 PM
-
I picked this game up on sale in the mega xbox live sale for $9.95 and I can honestly say that it is the best $9.95 I have spent on a video game. I agree with the review. There are a couple of moments that I didn't enjoy in the game but overall I felt it was great. Well done Capcom.
 
 
 
sick_wierdo
Posted by sick_wierdo
On Friday 5 Jul 2013 5:12 PM
-
Can I point out that actually, you can pause the game. If you play the game offline, you can pause it. It's only when playing online co-op that you can't, for obvious reasons. Not quite sure how you didn't realise this when reviewing it.
 
 
 
Jermachi
Posted by Jermachi
On Thursday 3 Jul 2014 12:36 AM
-
12 April 2013, 08:13 PM Reply to Jermachi
I picked this game up on sale in the mega xbox live sale for $9.95 and I can honestly say that it is the best $9.95 I have spent on a video game. I agree with the review. There are a couple of moments that I didn't enjoy in the game but overall I felt it was great. Well done Capcom.
One year later...

I have gone back to the game once or twice since finishing it. I have played a third of it through with a mate and we had fun. That's what games are about right? Fun?